Creativity Strikes Again!

Hello,

I’ve come back to writing on my blog!  I had a break due to Christmas and life, it just all got in the way.  However, while I haven’t been blogging I have still been creating and I thought I’d use this as an opportunity to share what I’ve made with you!  I’m also introducing a new element to my blog, I’m going to be doing a little bit of a photography sideline and some of my blog posts will be about my photographic adventures!

Anyway, over my blogging break I made several things, partly inspired due a fabric swap with two of my closest friends and partly the need to use up some of my fabric stash before buying anymore fabric!

1) Starry Skirt

Yet again I wanted a new dancing skirt!  This is the same as most of my others, cotton fabric, elasticated waistband, pretty, and great for dancing in!

Starry Skirt - Nov 2014
Starry Skirt – Nov 2014

2) Pyjama Trousers

I had some leftover fleece from the scarf I made as a present and there was just enough to make these wonderfully cosy pyjama trousers!

Fleece Pyjama Trousers - Jan 2015
Fleece Pyjama Trousers – Jan 2015

3) Slippers

During our fabric swap I got this delightful lilac fabric and thought it would look great layered over some blue cotton as the outer of my slippers.  The lining is red cotton and the sole is made from a soft thin faux suede fabric.

Slippers - Jan 2015
Slippers – Jan 2015

4) Formal Skirt

Both bits of material were sourced during the fabric swap, difficult to work with as they were shiny and slippery!  Its a circle skirt design, with two layers and faced waistline with a zip to fasten.

Formal Skirt - Feb 2015
Formal Skirt – Feb 2015

5) Halter Neck Top

This is a lengthened and slightly varied version of the draped top in The Great British Sewing Bee: Sew Your Own Wardrobe Book.  I’ve had this soft red cotton ages and thought I should use it!

Red Halter Neck Top - Feb 2015
Red Halter Neck Top – Feb 2015

6) Sewing Machine Cover

Made from a material again sourced in the fabric swap.  It has a large animal print on it and I made it from one pattern piece and edged it with petersham ribbon.

Sewing Machine Cover - Feb 2015
Sewing Machine Cover – Feb 2015

7) Loose T-Shirt

A variant on the Simple Tee in The Great British Sewing Bee: Sew Your Own Wardrobe Book.  I lengthened the pattern, raised the front neckline and added a couple of tunic style slits in the side seams.  It’s a wide necked top and sits on the shoulders.

Starry Top - Feb 2015
Starry Top – Feb 2015

That’s it for now, but I’m sure I’ll be writing again soon!

The majority of my creations you can find here!

Leave a Reply

