DIY Waterproof Camera Case

So, for those of you who don’t know, I’m going to be one of the bloggers for The Wildlife Trusts’ Campaign – 30 Days Wild (you should all sign up), have a look at my photography blog if you’re interested!  As a result, I’m getting into practise and helping to give people some ideas of what they can do!  Yesterday it was raining here in Cambridgeshire.  So, in the aid of being wild, I decided to make a waterproof camera cover for my camera!

Here’s a picture of my camera, its a Sony HX-300 in case you’re wondering.

Camera2

Materials Used:

  • 1 cylindrical squash bottle (1 litre size worked well for my camera!)
  • Some ziplock bags (I used 4 of the small snack size ones…I didn’t have any bigger ones, enough to cover the camera when opened out!)
  • Sellotape
  • Scissors

How I did it:

  1. Carefully cut the top and bottom off the squash bottle.  Be careful of the sharp edges at this point.  Cut it to be a bit bigger than the lens of the camera when fully extended to try and keep some of the rain off.
  2. Cover the sharp edges with a couple of layers of sellotape to avoid cutting yourself or scratching your camera.
  3. Get some ziplock bags, cut the closing part off and open up the sides so you have a sheet of plastic.  Stick enough of these together in such a way as to cover the sides, top, bottom and back of your camera.
  4. Put the squash bottle lens protector over the lens.  Put the plastic bag part around your camera, stick the plastic to the squash bottle to join it together.
  5. I left the other side open to allow me to take it on and off my camera easily.  Due to the way I can hold my camera, it is easy to just draw the extra material together and cover the camera when I hold it to take photos.
  6. Cut holds for the straps if you would like.

Some photos!

Leave a Reply

