Dropstitch Scarf

After a week spent down in mostly sunny Sidmouth at the FolkWeek, I return slowly to the normality of creating and blogging.

While in Sidmouth, I took along a simple project to keep me occupied when I was bored.  It was a very simple dropstitch scarf that is the first make for my knitted Christmas presents this year!  I found the pattern on Ravelry just here.

I adapted the pattern a little to match my yarn, width and length requirements.  It was a brilliant pattern and very fast to knit up (the joys of dropstitch!).  It has taken me a little over 2 weeks – which considering its the first scarf I’ve actually finished is pretty fast for me!

Making My Dropstitch Scarf

Yarn: Robin Paintbox Chunky in the Zebra colourway (I used 2 skeins – each was 100g, approx. 133m)
Needles: 6.5mm

I cast on 28 stitches (this has made it about 22.5cm wide).

Rows 1-2: Knit all stitches

Start Pattern:

  1. Knit 1, *Yarn Over twice, Knit 1, repeat from * till end of row
  2. Knit 1, *Drop the two Yarn Overs from last row, Knit 1, repeat from * to end of row.
  3. Knit all stitches
  4. Knit all stitches

Repeat pattern until scarf is desired length then cast off.  I did the pattern 53 times in total and the scarf is about 2.1m long.

I think its a lovely pattern – I have plans for a different style of dropstitch scarf for another Christmas present this year, but you’ll have to wait a while for me to show you that one!

Pictures

Leave a Reply

