Meadow Trails Washcloth

I’m very excited today!  I have a new knitting pattern published on Ravelry today and I decided that I’d love to share it with you!

I’ve recently rediscovered how nice cable stitches are and so I thought I’d use four basic cable stitches to make a simple washcloth.  I love my knitted washclothes – I use them in the bathroom, in the kitchen and for all sorts of cleaning around the house.  Sure I could get cheap ones from the shop – but this is much more fun, and much prettier!

This pattern was inspired by the intertwining tracks you can get across meadows and fields that have been made by animals or humans wandering through them and also by the plants themselves as they weave around each other in the wind.  The woven centre cable on the cloth represents the tracks, and the ascending spirals on either side the plants as they twirl around each other!

It uses four basic cable stitches which are normally the first ones you tend to learn when cabling:

  • Cable four back – slip two stitches on the cable needle and hold at the back of your work, knit two stitches on the left hand needle, knit the two stitches off the cable needle
  • Cable four front – slip two stitches on the cable needle and hold at the front of your work, knit two stitches on the left hand needle, knit the two stitches off the cable needle
  • Cable six back – slip three stitches on the cable needle and hold at the back of your work, knit three stitches on the left hand needle, knit the three stitches off the cable needle
  • Cable six front – slip three stitches on the cable needle and hold at the front of your work, knit three stitches on the left hand needle, knit the three stitches off the cable needle

I used to really struggle with cable stitches because I used to knit so tight, but since rediscovering them, I’ve realised I’m very gradually knitting less tight and so cabling is becoming a technique of pleasure rather than pain!

You can find my pattern over on Ravelry here and I’d love to see your projects if you knit one of these or my other designs!

4 thoughts on “Meadow Trails Washcloth

  1. I might have to be brave and have my first go at cables! This is fab and I have some cotton yarn that needs using up. Could you do a cable ‘how to’ for beginners at some point?

    Like

Leave a Reply

