Crochet Slippers

This week has been a bit busy for me so I’ve just got a relatively short post for you today.  I wanted to share with you my most recently finished crochet project – a set of snuggly slippers!

The Pattern

The pattern I’ve used I found on Ravelry and is Priscilla Hewitt’s Hexagon Boot Slippers.  It is a very easy pattern to follow and didn’t take very long to work up at all!  I used a bulky yarn instead of an aran yarn so I adapted the pattern to fit my feet by making four hexagons per slipper and joining them up as per the diagram (read the caption for explanation!)

diagram
Join up along the pink lines (the vertical one isn’t supposed to reach the top), then join the rest of sides by matching their letters.

I also threaded some ribbon round the top to help them stay on as I like my slippers a little big so they feel more cosy.

The Yarn

For this project I used some King Cole Chunky Tweed in colourway ‘1075 Balmoral’.  Its 72% premium acrylic, 25% wool and 3% viscose.  Its quite a stiff, not soft yarn (ideal for walking around the house in).  In case you’re wondering because you’re aware of my wool sensitivity, this seems absolutely fine so far, but then my feet have always been the least sensitive part to wool – they’re also only 25% wool which probably helps too.  I like this yarn so much I’m making a pair of stripy bedsocks for advent using it!  (By for advent, I mean that I am going to be knitting a set number of rows in a set colour every day throughout advent so I end up with a Christmas present to myself of bedsocks.  The hard bit will be only doing the set number of rows each day!)

I used a 6mm hook with this yarn.

The Finished Slippers

So after all that waffle about yarns and patterns, I guess you’d like to see my finished slippers!  So here they are in all their glory!  Join me next week for another crafty post (hopefully another finished project…so I’d better get busy!)

Leave a Reply

