Recently Off The Needles (And Hook)…

Hello there!  It’s been a while, I know.  You know that thing where life gets super busy and something has to drop by the wayside for a time?  That happened and sadly my blogs had to take a little bit of a timeout.  However, I’m back, although I can’t promise to post regularly at the moment!  Today I thought I’d take the opportunity to share with you some of my favourite recently finished projects.  The links on each title go to my Ravelry project pages (you don’t have to be a member of Ravelry to see these projects) and I’ve also linked to the pattern pages on Ravelry too.

Green Fan Bookmark

First up is this gorgeous crochet bookmark.

 

DSC05822_800x600

The stitch pattern is a little similar to a Queen Anne’s Lace, but not the same.  It was quick to make and is very lovely.  The pattern was well written and easy to follow too!  Part of my new love affair with tiny crochet!

DSC05824_800x600

Quick details:

Passionflower Doily

Next up is another crochet project, this time not in tiny crochet though!  A reasonably thick silver-grey doily – perfect to go under a pot plant or use as a mat if it weren’t so pretty!

DSC05834_800x600

This is actually the second time I’ve made this pattern.  The first time I forgot to take any pictures and stopped a few rounds earlier so it would fit on the front of a card to be posted to my Godmother.  This is my second and it was just as pleasant to make as the first time.  This is one of my favourite doily patterns.

Quick details:

Caledonian Forest Hat

I originally shared this project way back in September.  If you’ve been around since then you might remember what it looked like then, but here is a reminder:

dsc04036_800x600
Caledonian Forest Hat

This project sadly stayed like this for a rather long time until I had an email from some friends last week asking if I would still knit a shawl for them to gift.  I was of course very happy to knit the shawl, but it did mean that I needed to get this work-in-progress off the needles.  The yarn is beautiful and soft and gorgeous, and not something you really want to put onto scrap yarn until you fancy finishing it.  So the hat got finished.  Very unseasonal timing, but there we go.

DSC05854_800x600

The pattern was clear and easy to follow, although I did make a few mistakes on the decrease rows on the crown, but hopefully, no-one will notice!  (I was knitting this during a ceilidh band rehearsal and had to stop half-way through a row to do a clog solo…possibly why there were a few mistakes looking back…)  However, if I were to do this pattern again, I’d probably either do more ribbing or another repeat of the pattern as it is a tiny bit shorter than I would really like (or even check my gauge…)  However, it is a lovely hat so I’m sure I’ll still wear it!

Quick details:

  • Yarn: (Possibly the most gorgeous and softest yarn I’ve had the pleasure to knit with) Artesano DK 100% Pure Superfine Alpaca (colourways 785 Bolivia (green) and 1532 Chile (Red), purchased up in Morpeth while on a band tour a couple of years ago!)
  • Needles: 4.00mm circular (80cm cord using magic loop method)
  • Pattern: Caledonian Forest Hat by Sarah Franklin

So that concludes some of my recently finished projects.  I’ve got a number of knitting and crochet projects on the go, including 4 shawls (guess what I like making…), a scarf, some bed socks, a toy mouse, a hand towel and a doily.  I hope to share some of them with you sometime.

Leave a Reply

